Just as Torah designs are not limited to the Old Testament, neither are alphabetic designs. These designs follow the Hebrew alphabet and the meanings attached to the letters as noted by the rabbis and sages over the millennia. As with the Torah designs of Matthew, some of the alphabetic designs are obscure (indicated by ??), others just leap off the page at you. Here is a sampling:

Chapter 1 - Aleph, God as Creator and King. ??
Chapter 2 - Beit, house and temple. The wise men came to the house where Mary, Joseph and Jesus were staying.
Chapter 3 - Gimel, loving kindness and culmination. After the baptism of Jesus, the Lord said audibly, “This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.” (Matthew 3:17)
Chapter 4 - Dalet, door or the way. Jesus calls the first of the disciples to follow Him in the way.
Chapter 7 - Zayin, focal point of sustenance and struggle. ??
Chapter 8 - Chet, transcendence, life and grace. ??
Chapter 9 - Tet, objective good. The daughter of the ruler had died, but Jesus used this event to good by returning her to life.
Chapter 10 - Yod, creation and metaphysical. ??
Chapter 11 - Kaf, crowning accomplishment. Jesus was fulfilling His mission here on earth. (Matthew 11:5-6)
Chapter 12 - Lamed, teaching and learning. ??
Chapter13 - Mem, concealed and revealed. Jesus gave truths in the form of parables. Some of which He explained to His Disciples.
Chapter 14 - Nun, faithfulness, soul and emergence. ??
Chapter 16 - Ayin, sight and insight. “Blessed art thou, Simon Barjona: for flesh and blood hath not revealed it unto thee, but my Father which is in heaven.” (Matthew 16:17)
Chapter 17 - Peh, mouth and speech. At the Mount of Transfiguration the Lord spoke.
Chapter 18 - Tzaddi, righteousness and humility. “Whosoever therefore shall humble himself as this little child, the same is greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” (Matthew 18:4)
Chapter 20 - Resh, the wicked. Jesus describes how He will be betrayed, condemned to death, mocked and flogged by wicked men. (Matthew 20:17-19)

(There are 22 Hebrew letters. The cycle begins again with chapter 23.)

Chapter 24 - Beit, house and temple. Jesus describes how the Temple will be destroyed.
Chapter 25 - Gimel, loving kindness and culmination. The entire chapter speaks of the Coming Kingdom, which is the culminating event of the history of man.
Chapter 27 - Hay, the breath of God. With a loud cry, Jesus gave up His Spirit. (Matthew 27:50)
Chapter 28 - Vav, completion and redemption. The Great Commission is found in this chapter.

Alphabetic and Torah designs are not only found in Matthew. They are throughout the Old and New Testaments. I challenge you to look for them. It is rewarding in two ways; one way is you will find these meanings for yourself, and the other is you will find many other amazing insights as you search. I thank the Lord for His Holy Word the we have received today.

BACK to Alphabetic Designs.