The Design of the Bible

Man has long divided the Word of God into classifications of man’s own design. Generally, the classifications are the Law, History, Poetry, Major and Minor Prophets, the Gospel, Paul’s Epistles and the Revelation.

However, the Lord clearly placed a system of classification in His Word, and it has been there all along. This design is found in groups of nine books, with the exception of the “Minor” Prophets, which are twelve books.

According to the Lord’s pattern, the sixty-six books are divided as follows;

9 – 9 – 9 – 12 – 9 – 9 – 9.

Here are the divisions:

Genesis to First Samuel – A nine-book summary of early history, the patriarchs, the Children of Israel and the settlement of the Promised Land. This section concludes with the failed kingship of Saul.

Second Samuel to Job – A nine-book history of the Kingdom of Israel, beginning with King David. Jesus is a descendant of David. This section concludes with Job, a picture of Israel who had it all, lost it all, and in the end will possess double what was lost.

Psalms to Daniel – A nine-book collection of prophecy, some declared, some inferred. The Psalms are prophecy. This was confirmed by the Apostle Peter on the Day of Pentecost. (Acts 2:29-31)

Hosea to Malachi – A group of twelve smaller books of prophecy, referred to as “minor.”

The numeric pattern that is evident in the Old Testament continues in the New Testament.

Matthew to Galatians – A nine-book collection addressed to Jews and Jewish subjects. The Gospels were addressed to the early Church, which was Jewish. Galatians addresses the Jewish subject of circumcision.

Ephesians to Philemon – A nine-book collection of epistles to Gentiles and Gentile churches. This group is a parenthetical insertion between the Jewish-based New Testament books and demonstrates how the Gentile church is an insertion in the Lord’s great and wonderful plan. The last book, Philemon, is a picture of the Church being sent Home. Please see Philemon.

Hebrews to the Revelation – The last nine-book grouping is addressed to Jews (Hebrews) and Jewish subjects. The inclusion of the Revelation in this group confirms the participation of the Jews in End Time matters.

Let me reiterate that this design, this pattern came from the Lord. The confirmation of this fact is found in Exodus 25:31-36. This is the account of God giving Moses the pattern of knobs, bells and flowers for the Golden Lampstand. From this text it is clear that there were to be three sets of three decorations, or nine decorations, on each of the six branches, for a total of fifty-four decorations. On the main support there were to be four sets of three decorations, or twelve decorations, for a total of sixty-six decorations. Just like the sixty-six books of the Bible.

These decorations form a pattern: 9 – 9 – 9 – 12 – 9 – 9 – 9

This pattern exactly mirrors the Old Testament and New Testament books. Here is a graphic of how it was to look:

The Lord instructed Moses to be sure that he made the lampstand according to the pattern which was shown to him on Mount Sinai. (Exodus 25:40)

The Psalms confirm that the Golden Lampstand represents the Word of God.

“Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.” – Psalm 119:105
Is there any suggestion that the classification and subjects of the Books of the Bible, as listed above, was not ordained by the Lord? I think not.

“Declaring the end from the beginning, and from ancient times the things that are not yet done, saying, My counsel shall stand, and I will do all my pleasure.” – Isaiah 46:10
God is in control! He is mighty! He is gracious! And He is clearly in control! May His name always be praised!

BACK to Lesson Archive.