Torah Designs in the Bible

The Torah is the Jewish word for the first five books of the Bible. We Gentiles call these books the Pentateuch. Pente is Greek for “five”; teuchos is Greek for “vessel”

Dr. J. R. Church, a Baptist preacher from Texas, noted separate themes first established in each of the books of the Torah. Each of these five books sets forth a distinct theme:
1) Genesis – Beginning and the Sin of man
2) Exodus – Deliverance and Redemption
3) Leviticus – Sanctification or setting aside
4) Numbers – the Wilderness and Focus on Sin
5) Deuteronomy – Summation, Judgment, Establishment of the Kingdom

Further, Brother Church found that the five-book theme repeats itself in each chapter of the first five books. These themes repeat themselves throughout each book. For example, the Genesis theme, “Beginning and the Sin of Man,” can be found in chapters 1, 6, 11, 16, 21, 26, etc. of each of the books of the Torah. The Exodus theme can be found in chapters 2, 7, 12, 17, 22, 27, etc. of each of the books of the Torah.

Genesis examples:
Chapter 6 – Beginning – the beginning of man’s rebellion against the Lord.
Chapter 7 – Deliverance – Noah and his family were delivered from the Flood.
Chapter 8 – Sanctification – the Lord promised to never destroy life by Flood again.
Chapter 9 – Focus on Sin – Noah became drunk and Ham sinned against his father.
Chapter 10 – Summation – the Table of Nations, the descendants of Noah.

Exodus examples:
Chapter 11 – Beginning – the plague on the firstborn of Egypt, the beginning of freedom for the Children of Israel.
Chapter 12 – Deliverance – the Passing Over of the Lord and the deliverance of Israel.
Chapter 13 – Sanctification or setting aside – the consecration of the firstborn.
Chapter 14 – Focus on sin – Pharaoh sinned by going back on his agreement.
Chapter 15 – Summation – a poetic work summarizing the Great Works of the Lord.
Chapter 16 – Beginning – the beginning of the trek through the wilderness.
Chapter 17 – Deliverance – the defeat of the Amalekites.
Chapter 18 – Setting aside – Moses set aside men from each tribe to help him govern the people.

An example from Numbers:
Chapter 16 – Sin of Man – the rebellion of certain men against Moses.

And this Torah design continues throughout the Bible. Here are some examples in just one of the New Testament books:

Matthew examples:
Chapter 1 – Beginning – the beginning and genealogy of Jesus.
Chapter 2 – Deliverance – the deliverance of Jesus by escaping to Egypt.
Chapter 3 – Setting aside – John the Baptist set people apart for the coming Messiah.
Chapter 4 – the Wilderness – Jesus was tested in the wilderness!
Chapter 5 – Establishment of the Kingdom – Includes the Beatitudes which begin and end with a promise of the Kingdom of Heaven.
Chapter 10 – Establishment of the Kingdom – Jesus sent out the Disciples with instructions to preach that the Kingdom of Heaven is near.
Chapter 13 – Setting aside – Jesus told the Disciples that they are set apart.
Chapter 14 – the Wilderness – Jesus went to a solitary place, probably in the wilderness.
Chapter 17 – Deliverance – Jesus promised Elijah will come and restore all things.
Chapter 18 – Setting aside – Jesus told the Disciples that little children are set apart or sanctified.
Chapter 20 – Establishment of the Kingdom – this chapter begins with a parable about the Kingdom.
Chapter 21 – Beginning – The beginning of “Holy Week” is found in chapter twenty-one.
Chapter 23 – Setting aside – the scribes and Pharisees were set apart for condemnation.
Chapter 24 – the Wilderness – described testing of the Jews, just as they were tested in the wilderness.
Chapter 25 – Establishment of the Kingdom – this chapter is all about the coming Kingdom.
Chapter 26 – Sin of Man – man sinned, as they plotted to kill Jesus.
Chapter 27 – Deliverance – our deliverance through the crucifixion of Jesus.
Chapter 28 – Sanctification –Jesus was sanctified and taken home to be with the Lord.

You can go on and on throughout the Bible. For myself, the easiest chapters to detect are the “Leviticus” chapters (3, 8, 13, 18, 23, etc.). These chapters frequently deal specifically with the Levites, or the priesthood, who were “set aside”. Sometimes, the Torah theme simply leaps out at you while you read.

Read the Torah, or the Pentateuch, with the above in mind and be amazed! And be amazed at yet another design the Lord incorporated into His Word. For the Creator of all things to achieve this is as simple as a child's game. But we mere mortals should be in awe of the mighty intellect and the great and wonderful power of our Heavenly Father.

These Torah, Menorah, Alphabetic patterns, and others, are found throughout the Word of God and are His signature, verifying the validity of His Word. Our God is mighty, and He is in control! May His Name be praised now and forever!

BACK to Lesson Archive.